The New Year has brought several new 2016 California driving laws that
have gone into effect. If you've been injured in a vehicle accident,
one of these new laws may have an impact on your claim.
It is important that you are aware of the following laws:
1. Earbuds and Headsets: It is now unlawful for drivers of motor vehicles and cyclists to wear headphones
or earbuds in both ears while driving or riding. This law does not apply
to those who are wearing headsets or safety earplugs while driving emergency
vehicles and construction equipment.
2. Uber and Lyft Drivers Must Register with the DMV: Transportation network companies (TNCs) such as Uber and Lyft must now
participate in the DMV’s Employer Pull Notice (EPN) Program. This
program will allow TCNs to review their drivers’ driving records
and see any moving violations, accidents, license suspensions, and revocations.
3. Ignition Interlock Devices: The existing ignition interlock device (IID) project has been extended to July 1st, 2017. These devices restrict DUI offenders from starting their vehicles
if alcohol is detected in their breath. As it stands, convicted DUI offenders
are required to use an IID for five months for a first offense, 12 months
for a second offense, 24 months for a third offense, and 36 months for
a fourth offense.
4. Beer Bike Law: Bike buses that accommodate for up to 15 people at once are now subject
to local authorization and operator qualification requirements. In addition,
the operators of these vehicles are now given more specific instructions
on financial responsibility, accident reporting, required safety gear,
and standards for allowing passengers to drink alcohol onboard. These
bikes have become popular in San Diego and Sacramento as part of tours
to local bars.
5. Electric Bicycles: Electric-powered bicycles are now required to use roads similar to other
bicycles. Under the new law, any bicycle with fully operating pedals and
an electric motor of less than 750 watts is considered an electric bicycle.
6. California New Motor Voter Program: Applicants for driver’s licenses or identification cards will now
be automatically registered as voters. California is now the second state
in the union to enact a law like this.
7. Electric Skateboards: Under law AB 604, it will now be illegal for anyone to ride an electric
skateboard while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Riders must
be age 16 or older and must wear a helmet. Riders may not ride on roads
with a speed limit exceeding 35 mph, and use in some public places is
now restricted. Violating this law can bring a $250 fine.
For more information on these new laws or assistance with filing a car
accident claim, contact the Law Offices of Thomas E. Rockett today! Our
firm’s Irvine car accident lawyers have more than 25 years of experience
and are fully equipped to answer any legal questions you may have.
Contact our office online or call us today at (714) 701-8182!