Dram Shop Liability Attorney in Irvine
Injured in a Drunk Driving Accident? Call (714) 701-8182
Have you or a loved one been injured in a
drunk driving collision? Depending on the circumstances, you may have grounds to pursue legal
action against both the intoxicated driver and the party that served them
alcohol. Under California’s “dram shop liability” statute,
bars, restaurants, and even social hosts that negligently serve alcohol
to a person that causes an injury may be held civilly or criminally liable.
At the Law Offices of Thomas E. Rockett, III, our skilled Irvine drunk
driving accident attorney can help you identify the parties responsible
for your crash and pursue full and fair compensation on your behalf.
Why choose our world-class advocate? Just consider the following:
- More than 25 years of dedicated legal experience
Super Lawyers® inclusion for exceptional skill
- Personalized care and responsive communication
- Highly praised by past clients
Get in touch with us today to tell us about your injuries in detail.
Liability for Providing Alcohol in California
California’s dram shop laws are much more relaxed than in many other
states as they afford several protections to bars and social hosts against
the actions of their guests or patrons. Vendors of alcohol are oftentimes
not seen as directly facilitating the actions of an intoxicated person.
There is one exception to this rule, as an alcohol-serving establishment
or social host may be held partially liable in the event that they should
serve alcohol to an obviously intoxicated minor under the age of 21. Sellers
or providers of alcohol to an intoxicated minor may face misdemeanor criminal
charges and civil liability for any damages the intoxicated minor should
cause, whether it be due to a
car accident or any other sort of incident caused by their impairment.
Injured parties may seek the following damages:
- Medical expenses
- Lost wages
- Property damage
- Pain and suffering
- Rehabilitation costs
While alcohol providers may still face criminal prosecution for serving
alcohol to a habitual drinker or person who is clearly drunk, they may
not be held civilly liable if the person is older than 21 years of age.
Likewise, dram shop laws usually do not allow a first-party consumer of
alcohol to seek damages for themselves.
Discuss Your Case for Free Today
Since dram shop liability claims may only be filed within two years of
the date of injury, it is urgent you contact an attorney from The Law
Offices of Thomas E. Rockett, III as soon as possible to review your legal
options. With one-on-one attention and personalized legal strategies, our
Irvine personal injury lawyer can provide the powerful advocacy you need to maximize your potential
recovery. From investigating the cause of your injuries to pursuing litigation
on your behalf if necessary, we can handle all aspects of your claim and
ensure your rights are asserted during this difficult time.
Schedule a no-cost case review today to get started.